Disable Preloader
Mount Aspiring College logo

Academic Committee

Academic Committee

This year's committee is (back row) Nicole Meyer, Ashleigh Doran, Meg Thomas, Hayden Watson, Ben Silipo, Emma Davies, Georgie Bruce, (front row) Tesoro Levy, Emma Patterson, Isla Gellatly, Millie Cranfield, Ashley Bates, (absent ) Lucy Fenton.

Academic Committee 2021

Academic Committee 2020

Last year's committee was Maddy Thompson (Chair), Ashley Bates, Emma Davies, Lucy Fenton, Isla Gellatly, Annika Gibson, Emily Heath, Ben McNabb, Laura Neale, Isobel Smith and Jono Watson.

They had this to say:

As a group of 14 student leaders within the Academic Committee, we have consistently strived throughout 2020 to organise both new and already existing projects. These have been both successful and enjoyable, a true testament to the dedication and hard work that each of our committee members have put in throughout the year. Despite COVID-19 lockdowns and restrictions, the Academic Committee continued to work through lockdown, producing a video on the Mount Aspiring College Facebook page which invited students to participate in a fun domino effect challenge.

2020’s focus for the Academic Committee has been to improve our already existing programmes, as well as create new, academic-focused initiatives within the college. One of our objectives as a committee this year was to increase our own involvement with the junior school, as well as develop the academic connection between senior and junior students within the college. This has been reflected in the projects we have facilitated this year, which have included MAC Talks, inter-house debating, an end of term spreadsheet displaying student work and finally the Tuakana Teína Buddy programme.

The Academic Committee this year has really enjoyed providing the school with initiatives and leadership to influence MAC students to strive to attain their personal excellence. We look forward to the future of MAC and the Academic Committee and only hope its presence in the school grows.

Go back to MAC Leaders See more MAC Mag 20
The Academic Committee page of the MAC Magazine